You're Invited: HLAA Webinar Series!

WEBINAR #1: ALUMNI SPOTLIGHT: DIVERSIFYING ENTERTAINMENT 

 

1

 

 

Sat, 6/27 @ 2pm EDT/11am PDT

Only 4.5% of speaking roles in the 100 top-grossing films from 2007 to 2018 featured Latinx actors. Unsurprisingly, only 3% of producers and casting executives during that time period were Latinx. Join us for a conversation with alumni who are working to change who is writing the stories and leading from both in front of and behind the camera in our current media landscape. Felipe Tewes, Director of International Originals at Netflix, AB ’06, and Julie Ann Crommett, Vice President of Multicultural Audience Engagement at Walt Disney Studios, AB ’08, will share how they entered this field, what's next, and why it's a priority. HLAA VP of Reunions, Glenda M. Aldana Madrid, AB '07, and HLAA HGSE Representative, Isamar Vega, AB '13 & EdM '19, will moderate the conversation. Participants will gain insight into the field of entertainment, learn our panelists’ trajectory, and engage in a Q&A session.

 

 

 

WEBINAR #2: LATINX ALUMNI VISION AND ADVOCACY EFFORTS

 

2

 

 

 

 

 

Mon, 7/13 @ 8pm EDT/ 5pm PDT

Participate in a stimulating discussion with current Latinx board members as they work to grow HLAA, advocate on behalf of current students, and increase LatinXcellence across the country. Learn from President Emeritus Ed Rocha AB'06 about how to go from being a Latinx student activist to an alumni leader within an elite institution. HLAA board leaders will talk about the board's 2020 vision including the fight for Ethnic Studies, our demand for more Latinx faculty hiring, our collaboration with fellow Harvard SIGs, and our upcoming inaugural Harvard Latino Alumni Reunion in fall of 2021. Learn what collective power alumni have at Harvard; how we advocate for issues impacting Latinos in higher education; and what you can do to get more involved and make a difference in your alma mater.

 

 
WEBINAR #3: LEVERAGING YOUR NETWORKS AUTHENTICALLY
 
 
3
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

Thur, 7/30 @ 6pm EDT/ 3pm PDT

In this workshop, you will hear from HLAA President, Shirley Cardona AB’06, MBA’12 and VP of Finance, Albert Maldonado MTS’14 about how they’ve learned to leverage their networks. The power and influence of the global Harvard alumni network of over 375,000 motivate many to study at Harvard. How can you maximize the potential of this incredible network, and your other networks, both personally and professionally? What does networking mean beyond the context of cocktail hours and job hunting? What does effective networking look like and sound like? How do you bring your whole authentic self to the networking experience?

 
 

Save the dates and register today to save your spot for all three events!